Lying to the west of Kenya and north of Lake Victoria, Uganda has almost exactly the same land area as the UK. It was a British protectorate throughout the first half of the 20th century and only granted independence in 1961. At its western edge, the country's most impressive mountains are the rarely visited Rwenzoris, which extend for 110 kilometres along the border with the Democratic Republic of Congo. With a number of high peaks, including Mount Stanley (5109m / 16,760ft), these 'Mountains of the Moon' have some of the best trekking in all of Africa. Uganda's other great strength is its variety of wildlife habitats - it is a great place to spot some of Africa's most important species. South of the Rwenzoris, the Queen Elizabeth National Park is home to elephant, lion and hippo, whilst the nearby Bwindi Impenetrable Forest is one of the few places on Earth where it is possible to get close to mountain gorillas in the wild.


Uganda is located in Eastern Africa, west of Kenya and east of the Democratic Republic of the Congo. It is in the heart of the Great Lakes region, and is surrounded by three of them, Lake Edward, Lake Albert, and Lake Victoria. While much of its border is lakeshore, Uganda is landlocked with no access to the sea. The centre is dominated by Lake Kyoga, which is also surrounded by extensive marshy areas. Uganda lies almost completely within the Nile basin. Despite being on the equator Uganda is more temperate than the surrounding areas due to its altitude. The country is mostly plateau with a rim of mountains. This has made it more suitable to agriculture and less prone to tropical diseases than other nations in the region.  Both eastern and western borders are marked by mountains. The Ruwenzori Mountains (often called the Mountains of the Moon) form a natural border between Uganda and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. The highest peaks of Mount Stanley, in the Ruwenzoris, are snowcapped.

Time Zone

The time in Uganda is GMT + 3 hours.