Latest from our Travellers

All our clients are invited to post a review so you can get an independent view of the holiday and our services.


Overall Company Rating 95%

1712 Total Reviews

Leave a Review
1382
Excellent
261
Good
41
Average
14
Poor
1
Terrible

★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Absolutely wonderful, great for vegans
Edge of the Sahara Trek
Absolutely wonderful. Logistics of pick up and drop offs to the airport great. Walking guide was local, incredibly knowledgeable, fun and friendly. The food was delicious and great for vegans! Every day Lassaam made sure we had a mid morning snack and a rest under the shade of a lone acacia tree. Lunch was soo excellent, prepared by a chef who managed to concoct the dishes from the veg which the camels carried. The camel leaders worked their socks off making sure our campsites were set up every night. Everything was provided for us ...matresses, sleeping bags, food, water. An absolutely wonderful experience!
By Alex Chorley | 21 February 2024
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Excellent trip
Julian Alps Jamboree - Family Adventure

Super visit. Beautiful country. Great activities. Wonderful guides

By Martin Poole | 19 February 2024
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Adventure of a lifetime!
Kilimanjaro Northern Route Traverse and Circuit
What an adventure! Our group of 10 was made up of both singles/groups and couples, and what a fantastic group it was. Our guides, cooks and porters worked tirelessly to ensure we were comfortable, safe and well fed. Special thanks to Onex (lead guide) & Saidi and Joseph (assistant guides) they ensured everything ran seamlessly from arrival through to departure. There was a slight change to the itinerary, missing out Lava tower in favour of extra acclimatisation time at School Hut, which in my vi ew and that of the other trekkers was a great call from an experienced leader. As mentioned above we were well fed with some great meals of which there was always plenty. The trekking was varied with a real mix of terrain, culminating in what was a tough but rewarding push to the summit. Once again the support of the guides ensured that all 10 of us reached the summit, with some encouraging bursts of song along the way. Overall this was one of my most memorable and enjoyable treks, filled with memories that I will cherish forever.
By Paul Leicestershire UK | 15 February 2024
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Outstanding walking trip for beginner/intermediate walker/hiker
Levada Trails and Peaks of Madeira
Guide Nuno Portela was outstanding. He took care of and managed a group well that ranged from someone on their first hike to highly experienced hikers and made us all feel comfortable and at home. His knowledge of the flora fauna and mountain geography was exemplary. Details of each day were provided and I never felt stressed or under pressure on the trip. Food and restaurants selected were outstanding especially last night. Hotels were fine 4/5. The mountains and Levada of Madeira provide out standing scenery. I would thoroughly recommend this trip for all hikers. To get a sense of distance covered each day here are the miles for each of the 6 days: 9.76, 8.95, 11.62, 8.29, 9.45, 11.57. Note you will be going up and down some significant mountains during each walk.
By Christopher Minnetonka MN | 07 February 2024
★ ★ ★ ★
A great introduction to walking Madeira
Self-Guided Walking on Madeira
This was our first trip to Madeira. We visited in January 2024. The weather started off good but then we had a significant amount of rain, on some days we had amber/orange weather warnings for rain. The walks still went ahead and we were glad we had planned well and taken all wet weather gear including waterproof gloves, socks, Gortex clothing. Although the trip is self guided the ground agent works with all nationalities and we shared transfers with a German Couple. They were not prepared for t he weather and on some days did not do the walks. Even when it wasn’t raining the paths along the lavadas were wet and muddy. The walk on the second day has been cut short due to erosion. It’s now just a lavada walk, there and back. This was the least enjoyable walk - it’s easy to do with car hire and not the kind of walk you pay for on a trip like this. This walk needs to be changed to something more exciting. The hotels were all great. One small and practical, one very blingy, a perfect one in Porto Moniz but the Savoy Saccharum being our least favourite as we were given the worst of rooms. It looked out into a damp courtyard - lots of mosquitos in the shade. We found it difficult to dry out our gear as there were messages to not hang anything on the balcony. I suggest up grading at this hotel to a sea view. After the trip ended we rented a car and a house and stayed on the island to do another 5 independent walks. I recommend the trip for first timers walking on the island as an introduction.
By Lynne Devon UK | 28 January 2024
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
A perfect trip
Antarctica In Depth Expedition

This was already a perfect trip, but what made it even better is that KE included an extra night in Ushuaia for the same price that others paid when booking with different companies without the extra night.

By Roy Hayes | 24 January 2024
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Fabulous self guided tour of Vietnam
Self-Guided Holiday in Vietnam

Had a marvellous time with some wonderful experiences. From south to north, I would repeat in a heart beat ! From crazy Saigon to Hanoi, night trains, Mekong Delta, beaten HoiAn, Hue and Halong Bay, this holiday got the balance just right on culture and adventure.

By NB Cumbria | 24 January 2024
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Absolutely incredible, well organised, mind blowing trip!
Antarctic Hike and Sail Expedition
I’m so happy we chose this trip for our once in a lifetime journey to Antarctica. There are many options out there, but we were hoping for something active, sustainable, and immersive, and this trip not only delivered but went beyond so many of our expectations. Given that once you’re there, everything is very weather dependent, I was a bit anxious about whether we’d get to see and do what we wished for. But I was under the impression that there was a set itinerary, and if the weather is p oor, you’re out of luck. What I didn’t realise is that the boat is run by expedition leaders who know the place and are equally in love and excited to be there, and they do everything they can to get you off the boat and doing something. They check local weather, and change plans on the go, picking best places to make sure activities get done. We did have good weather on this trip, however did have to change plans a few times, and some leaders ended up pulling three shift days just to make sure everyone gets to do everything they wanted. It wasn’t really super clear from the brochure, but everyone gets to do one session of kayaking, camping, and mountaineering, and if you’re not doing that, you’re either on a zodiac cruise, or on land. There’s no sweat about what you need to do when, everything is well organised, and you won’t miss anything. If your priority is activities, choose a smaller boat that carries less people to have the best chance of making up anything that may be cancelled due to wind or ice (Plancius or Orthelius). The ship is clean and comfortable, older but charming, and geared towards adventure and nipping on and off quickly rather than luxury. Great vibe from all the staff on board. Expedition leaders are lovely and really committed, and clearly passionate about the place and preservation. There are thorough procedures in place for environmental protection, nothing seemed like a chore though. We saw loads of penguins, seals, whales, and even had a surprise orca encounter, when the expedition guides quickly changed plans, dropped zodiacs, and we went riding alongside around 70 of them! Kayaking and mountaineering were the highlights, incredible experiences. Camping was wonderful, although no one slept much due to excitement and nearby humpback whales that we couldn’t resist watching. Hiking and snowshoeing aren’t something you need to book separately – if the snow isn’t firm, they’ll prep snowshoes for everyone so that’s all taken care of. No use taking hiking boots, unless you plan doing very technical mountaineering. The knee high muck boots they provide are brilliant (order your true size, but don’t fret because they have loads to change if they don’t fit). Some landings require stepping into water, where even if you have gaiters, you’d get wet feet. If you bring your own boots, you wear the muck boots to shore and then change – it’s not worth it, the muck boots are suitable for everything, and they have to be brushed and bleached before and after every landing. Mountaineering comes in different difficulty levels and it’s possible to do super basic ones, on a good day, ours was like a super pleasant snowshoe walk! The journey there and back is hard – at least 24 hours of flying, then two and a half days across the Drake passage that took out half the ship, including me. There’s a doctor on board who can give you medicine. I took Stugeron which didn’t help, patch was the only thing that prevented vomiting on the way back. Taxis in Argentina are no problem, at airports they have ushers for queues, and prices agreed before the journey. Dollars are widely accepted, and in places Euros as well, certainly on the ship. Aerolineas Argentinas is the only airline to Ushuaia, do be careful because they’re a lot more relaxed and they often change times and even which airport they’re landing on, Buenos Aires domestic or international. We had our destination airport changed both inbound and outbound. There are multiple flights a day, so if there’s space and your flight was delayed or changed, it’s worth asking if they can bump you to an earlier flight, they can do it. All in all, I could rave about this trip for hours, it was the most amazing place I’ve ever gone to, in a fantastic environment, with lovely people who really cared about giving me the best experience.
By Ivana Brighton | 18 January 2024
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Great game and landscapes
Best of Botswana, Lodge Safari
This was a thoroughly enjoyable tour, highlighting the contrasting landscapes and wildlife of the Okavango, Moremi and Chobe. I've been on high end safaris and I'd say that this one, while cheaper, is a very good introduction to southern Africa, without unnecessary luxury. The local operators and their guides, are highly professional and experienced and attract clients from around the world. One of the things that made the tour fun was the multinational nature of the group, with everyone being S wiss, Swedish, Scottish or Australian. The highlights were probably walking among game in the Okavango delta, the scenery and wildlife along the Khwai river and the Chobe river, the sunset water safari on the Chobe, Victoria Falls (even at their driest), the pre tour option of a guided tour of Soweto in Johannesburg, the evening dinner cruise on the Zambezi, and the good company of the group. People who did the options of the flight over the Okavango and high tea at the Victoria Falls Hotel thoroughly enjoyed those experiences too. Worth noting though that there is normally a max of 2 single spaces on these tours. Also worth noting that you will spend a long time sitting in vehicles on long transit and game drives, but it's necessary and worth it for reaching the different areas and getting so close to the lions, leopards, elephants, rhinos, crocs, etc, etc. We went at an odd and very hot time, late November and early December, so the Okavango was not a waterland, but we were lucky to have the good game viewing afforded by the dry vegetation, combined with the first green shoots of the rainy season and the first babies of the zebra, wildebeest, impala, etc before the tracks became difficult with mud. And finally, you will probably need much more sunblock and insect repellent than you think!
By Bob Edinburgh | 06 January 2024
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Amazing Greenland
Icefjords and Remote Villages of East Greenland
I went on this trip in August 2023. I'd give it 6 stars if I could. It was pretty much the best trip I have ever been on with KE. The whole atmosphere of Greenland was utterly brilliant, stunning scenery and cultural insight. The trip was made even better by the suburb guide Einar Finnsson who has a commanding knowledge of Greenland and the Inuit. He was also a people's person, very sociable and managed a somewhat eclectic group very well. If creature comforts are your thing then this is not th e trip for you. I shall return to the Arctic soon.
By Richard Aboyne | 06 January 2024
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Great Egyptian Adventure
Family Egypt Adventure Holiday
This was a great trip - we were in a private group - family of 5. The itinerary is well organised with enough time to relax but also important sights fitted in. As adults we would have liked more time in Cairo but our teenagers probably found 24 hours enough. Wael was an excellent guide - very professional and we did not get hassled - he always went the extra mile and made good use of time so we saw sights but relaxed, with only two early starts. He thought ahead - e.g. arranged right rooms or late check out on first day so we could relax before train. Drivers also good (although generally Cairo driving is hair raising). Overnight train from Cairo to Aswan quite fun and food & toilets fine. Enjoyed felucca trip in Aswan and you can hike up hill from boat but might get asked to pay to see tombs - we wished we had been brave enough to walk to top. We were lucky because sights (especially Pyramids and Valley of Kings) were not busy. The hotels were good - very nice in Cairo by Nile, in Aswan hotel had garden and pleasant pool by Nile, in Luxor (1 night) comfortable but impersonal, Hurghada resort very pleasant with surprisingly good snorkelling off the beach and good windsurf rental & tennis courts available. Good snorkelling trip and time to relax. Would love to return and professional company arranges itinerary - kayaking, camel trip and cycling exceeded expectations even though cycling is fairly short spin.
By Clare Kent | 03 January 2024
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Fabulous family adventure in Northern India
Tigers and Temples of Rajasthan - Family India

Our December 23 trip to India was an experience that we will remember forever. 10 nights, 7 hotels, temples, palaces, culture, fantastic food, friendly people and the best tour leader and driver. We packed in so much but it felt well organised and smooth. Would highly recommend this trip to anyone wanting to see Northern India.

By Derek Bishops Stortford | 02 January 2024
★ ★ ★ ★
Fantastic off the beaten track holiday
Secret Trails of the Tribal Heartland
We went on a KE hiking trip in Vietnam. Overall the holiday was fantastic. We felt like we got properly off the beaten track, saw some absolutely stunning places and met some interesting people. The trip advertised the opportunity to stay with local hill tribes. A couple of the homestays were more commercialised than we were expecting (more like staying in a BnB than in someone's home), but others felt very authentic, like we were genuinely sharing the home of the tribespeople. The food was slig htly lacking in variety, especially for vegetarians (it was rice, omelette, tofu and green vegetables for most meals), but what there was was very tasty, and it was much better quality than my husband and I were expecting for vegetarians. Our main complaint is that there was far too much of it! The bus that we were in for all of our transport was comfortable and our driver Dac was excellent, coping seemingly effortlessly with some very challenging driving conditions and always smiling. There were some long drives, but these were mostly very scenic, and our tour leader Thanh kept us entertained along the way with lots of information. Thanh was a fantastic tour leader. He was always cheerful and enthusiastic, very knowledgeable about various aspects of the country, and made what must have been a lot of logistical work and organisation look easy. He interacted very well with the group, learning all our names straight away, showing a personal interest in us, and showing caring e.g. offering to carry things for me when I wasn't feeling well. His English was excellent, he was perfectly easy to understand. The only thing he was bad at was telling jokes - they were all terrible! But they made us laugh nonetheless. We enjoyed the format of several days of hiking followed by some more luxurious rest and relaxation at the end of the trip. The hiking was quite varied and not too challenging. We arrived a day before the trip so were fairly well rested when the trip started, but for people who arrived on the group flight I think it was a little too much to go straight into the holiday with a walking tour of Hanoi; they really needed to check in and rest a bit before an activity. Our main complaint about the trip is that there were a lot of errors in the itinerary we were given prior to the trip (even in the latest version). Several hike distances and driving times were wrong, and we didn't do several of the things mentioned on the itinerary. Some of the other pre-trip information we were given was also innaccurate - bedding was provided at all the homestays so we didn't need sleeping bags, so had these taking up a lot of room in our luggage unnecessarily. We also didn't need water purification tablets as we were provided with bottled water all the time, so wasted money buying these. Overall though we really enjoyed the trip and would recommend it; the pre-trip information just needs editing to reflect reality.
By Elizabeth Bishopton | 12 December 2023
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Not for the fainthearted but hugely rewarding!
Dolpo to Mugu Reconnaissance Trek
Not for the fainthearted. This was the most challenging and toughest trek I have ever done. Given its remoteness and routing (including the high passes to be crossed), the envisaged itinerary can be varied at short notice due to changing conditions and weather at short notice. In 2023 we successfully concluded the trek but had to vary rest days and on one occasion when the envisaged camp was not viable had to undertake two originally planned trekking days in one day! However, the rewards are spe ctacular in every respect. Highly recommended if you don’t mind surprises and are prepared to be severely challenged. Excellent support (again in every respect) from the first class guide / support team (lead by Bihm Tamang) with a special mention for the fellow guides, cooks, porters and mules!
By Stephen Harrogate | 12 December 2023
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
What an adventure!
Trek Madagascar, The Land of the Lemur
I signed up for this trek wanting an adventure and excitement. It certainly delivered on both fronts! The scenery was truly varied, from the sandstone cliffs of Isalo, to the granite outcrops of Andrigitra to the ralnforests of Ranomafana and Andasibe. The drive days in between the different national parks gave the opportunity to see the rural areas and aspects of the everyday lives of the Malagasy people - sapphire mining, washing laundry in the rivers, growing rice and herding zebu. All really interesting and a great way to see the 'real' Madagascar which has a lot of corruption and poverty. The infrastructure of Madagascar is very poor, so that added to the four-wheel drive experiences when it came to crossing bridges and negotiating potholes. Hats off to our drivers and guides who got us safely across bridges with many missing planks! There were so many highlights on this holiday. We saw a stunning sunrise from the top of Peak Boby, an incredible number of different species of lemur, fantastic three course evening meals when camping, a great party with our porters and guides... The list could go on. Our main guide Niry was excellent, supportive, encouraging and knowledgeable. The guides we had in the different national parks made the effort to point out insects, chameleons and plants that we would otherwise have missed, and many of these are truly weird and only to be found in Madagascar. Initially looking for lemurs in Andasibe seemed like a wild goose chase, but then we would rush through the forest with our guide, only to spot an enormous number of different lemurs. Wow! My only recommendation for future participants is to do plenty of hill walking in preparation. I cannot recommend this trip highly enough.
By Julia Bristol | 12 December 2023
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
A wonderful holiday in a remote part of Nepal
Hidden Valleys of Naar and Phu
If you like to get into remote Nepal then this is the trek for you. Ok, there are two days up the Annapurna circuit as far as Koto then the crowds (and jeeps and motorbikes) disappear and you are in remote valleys and immense gorges, then as you gain height you get to the amazing villages of Phu and Naar. After a cold night camping at around 4500m you cross Kang La at 5320m before descending to the Annapurna circuit at Ngawal. Our leader Dinesh was superb as were the support team with Pream (ass istant leader and a great chef) and the six porters. The lodges were of good quality, some with hot showers and we were frequently the only group in the lodge. I particularly liked getting away from the crowds and the privilege of visiting the villages of Naar and Phu which have hardly changed in centuries.
By David Jersey | 12 December 2023
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Excellent hiking and beautiful island
Walking Undiscovered Tenerife and Pico Teide
We had a fantastic trip. Every walk was different and each was planned with care to show us the huge wealth and variety of landscape and vegetation in the different regions of Tenerife. Cao is an excellent guide. He is enthusiastic and passionate about sharing his island with visitors and his skill leading the group and planning the walks was much appreciated. His choice of accommodation was also very good and gave us yet more variety during the week - all good! We enjoyed meeting like-minded hi kers and had lots of fun together during the week. I would thoroughly recommend the trip.
By Ruth CHELTENHAM | 12 December 2023
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Spires and Ice and more Ice and Blue skies
Spires and Ice - Trekking Patagonia
We’ve just returned from an amazing trip. Patagonia is a special place. We were fortunate to have Natalie(Nati) for the whole of the trip and Yasser who joined us for the Chilean part. They were both excellent and really added to the enjoyment of the holiday with their knowledge and enthusiasm. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt real looked after from start to finish. Our group was a small group of 6 with 2 couples and 2 solo female travellers all with a keen interest in wildlife especia lly birds, and regular hill walkers up for the challenge of the hikes. Logistics-wise everything went to clockwork. We flew with British Airways direct from London. El Classico hotel in Buenos Aires very friendly and comfortable with great fish restaurant across the road La Pescadorita worth trying. We only had the day to do a half day city tour of BA worth spending few days at beginning or end of trip as so much to see there. Weatherwise we struck lucky with only one dodgy day with very windy and rain on the day we trekked to Grey glacier which did look very grey that day. Good training for coping with the wind gusts though and we were able to dry our kit out at the wood burner area in the large Paine mountain refuge which was busy with other trekkers. Our bunk room for six was nice and cosy and we were well fed at the buffet. Other days we had balmy 18 degrees one day then the rest were cooler blue sky days with the odd shower and wind gust. Waterproofs always in the rucksack just in case. It was really useful that we could leave excess kit at the refuges or rangers office on the trek so we could do the day hikes moving quicker and with light packs. We used either drybags and locker at Paine refuge but some had taken smaller day bags in their main rucksack. The only day we had to carry a full rucksack on trek was from Frances camping domes (Los Cuernos lodge closed for renovation the domes were excellent with our own facilities) to Chileno refuge were we camped in their brand new tents with ladders very comfy. Only downside, facilities limited but the location was a big bonus giving us a 2 hour head start on day trippers to the Paine towers. It was snowing at the refuge and cloudy the day we started the hike to the Towers and there was some doubt we would get to the viewpoint as there had been news of ice on the plateau. None of us had brought microspikes. However luck was on our side when sun came out at the decision point to continue snow had softened and cloud cleared as we got there. Again our guides judgement and knowledge of the terrain proved invaluable.we celebrated in style with lots of Chilean carmenere wine and lamb cooked on a spit by a real gaucho at a ranch. We returned to our friendly hacienda style hotel Kau tan in El Calafate with some taking advantage of their laundry service (£6 equiv) before we moved on to El Chalten .Good meal at the hotel and Mi Rancho .Next day we had a touristy full day viewing the spectacular Perito merono glacier including a busy boat trip. We liked El Chalten a smaller relaxed town with 3 great day hikes from our base there. Nati arranged all our meal bookings including at the excellent Asadores restaurant 5 course Argentinian tasting menu with the best steak of the trip and El Muja with steak and fish on the menu. We chose to take the Iguazu falls extension, well worth it especially the Argentinian side with optional boat trip under the falls. We got soaked. Reserva virgin lodge staff very helpful and set in the jungle with walking tours to see the toucans. Food ok but would suggest 10 min taxi ride into town to find better alternatives. In summary an amazing trip, great company, wildlife and lucky with the weather. Definitely a trip of a lifetime.
By Glenn Wirral | 12 December 2023
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Amazing
Edge of the Sahara Trek

Amazing trip to edge of Sahara very well organised - our guide lassan was awesome encouraging and informative throughout the whole trip would recommend him to guide me on future trips - no words can express the beauty of what you see throughout the Sahara it really is life changing - shout out to all that assisted on the tour you do such a great job and thank you to those within the group you made it a week to remember

By Lesley Umberleigh | 12 December 2023
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Expertly led trek through stunning landscapes on quiet trails
Hidden Valleys of Naar and Phu
As an experienced trekker in Nepal I wanted to get away from the ever-growing noisy crowds found on the popular trekking routes, so I chose the Naar and Phu trek – it didn’t disappoint. Above all else, full praise to Dinesh Rai our guide for taking such good care of our small group, he led and organised perfectly throughout the trip, even making changes to the itinerary we requested – more on that later. Thank you Dinesh, Pream and the porters for everything. The first two days on the Anna purna Road (sorry Circuit) weren’t that interesting for any of the group as we’d all been that way before, and competing with jeeps and motorbikes soon loses its appeal. However it’s necessary for acclimatisation, and once you leave Koto and head into the Naar Phu Valley, you are immediately plunged into wonderful quiet forest in a deep gorge. Our first night in the Naar Phu Valley was supposed to be camping in the forest, but with only four of us we were able to stop in the rooms attached to a little lodge at the campsite. Over the next few days you climb up the valley, away from the forest into pine and juniper as you reach the incredible canyon that leads to Phu. This valley is one of the highlights of the trek, we ran out of superlatives as we followed the ledge-path along the valley side, the rock canyon walls towering over us and down to the river below. It was just stunning. You eventually climb to Phu Gate and then on to the village itself. We were very lucky to discover a ceremony going on at the old monastery, and we were invited in to witness the monks and locals taking part, and we were warmly welcomed and took part as offerings were made to the congregation, a very special moment. Leaving Phu you get to experience the canyon again as you head back down the valley, and over a couple of days you then climb up to Naar. I have to say, the quality of the lodges was better than I expected. The rooms could be small at times, but the beds were comfortable and the evening food was always good. Three of the lodges in the Naar Phu area advertised Wi-Fi, but sadly they were all broken, so don’t plan on relying on any Wi-Fi away from the Annapurna Circuit part of the trek. Leaving Naar village you climb to the camp site at 4,600m. This was a cold night, -10 in the tent, but mattresses are provided, so no need for the thermarest mat listed in the trek notes, our guide told us this before we left Kathmandu, so at least we didn’t have to find room in our kit bags for them. The evening meal cooked by Pream and the team was fabulous, we didn’t know how he managed it. Next morning was up and over the pass, a long, slow plod up over the pass, but with stunning views of the mountains as you climb. We were lucky again, a herd of yaks were being driven over the pass, so we had close up views of the men on horseback moving them up through the snow. Yes, we had snow on the pass which made the climb more fun and picturesque. Some people opted to use the boot spikes provided, but I was happy to just get my poles out for stability. The Kang La itself is a narrow ridge, there isn’t a lot of space so it’s a good job it’s not very busy like the Thorong La can get. The view you get as you come over the pass is amazing, Annapurna II appears head-on over the ridge between the snow and prayer flags, it’s a breath-taking moment. There’s a cup of hot juice and a rest on the pass before you start the long descent to Ngawal on steep scree. It’s a long day, but the lodge we ended up in at Ngawal was very comfortable. And that’s the quiet, wonderful part of the trek over, you’re now back on the Annapurna Road, even Ngawal has a road now. This is where we asked to change the end of the trek. The drive in had been a long, bumpy day, with the 6 hour or so drive from Kathmandu followed by the 2 hour jeep ride to Jagat, so no one was looking forward to an even longer jeep and bus journey home on the last day or the two long days walking on the Annapurna Road. So, we asked Dinesh to change the end of the trek as follows… instead of walking the last long day from Koto to Tal, we instead drove by jeep from Koto to Besisahar where we stopped the night in a hotel. This meant our drive back to Kathmandu was much more manageable with only the 6 hour road section to do, meaning we got back to Kathmandu for a late lunch. This decision proved to be a really good one, not just for the split driving days and reduced time walking on the Annapurna Road, but the last two walking days are very long. The first of these days we still did, we left Ngawal at 7:40am, we didn’t stop for morning or afternoon tea, only a lunch stop and we still ran out of time, we had to be picked up along the road and jeeped to Koto as it was starting to go dark. The last two days walking are just too long, and to do the one we did without a tea break in the morning and afternoon made it feel more like a boot-camp than a walking holiday. I’ll point this out to KE in my review to them, but hopefully they can alter the end of this trek to make it more enjoyable. The time spent on the Annapurna Road is a necessary evil to get to and from the quiet trails of Naar and Phu, and it is worth it for sure. It’s beautiful, and I for one enjoyed the peace and stunning landscapes. The lodges used were certainly better than I expected, the food tasty and plentiful, and the local porters and guides exceptional. This was my first trek in Nepal where all the food was provided, I was a bit apprehensive about this because I like to choose what I eat, but I needn’t have worried, we still got to pick what we wanted from the usual lodge menus, rather than having the choice made for us.
By Mark Worcester | 12 December 2023
Footer logos
Your Wishlist
No Wishlist Items

Start your next adventure.

Click the heart icon on the search or holiday pages to save a holiday to your wishlist.

Holiday Search