Germany is in Western and Central Europe, with Denmark bordering to the north, Poland and the Czech Republic to the east, Austria and Switzerland to the south, France and Luxembourg to the southwest, and Belgium and the Netherlands to the northwest. Officially known as the Federal Republic of Germany (Bundesrepublik Deutschland), Germany is a federal parliamentary republic in western-central Europe. It includes 16 constituent states and covers an area of 357,021 square kilometres with a largely temperate seasonal climate. It lies mostly between latitudes 47° and 55° N and longitudes 5° and 16° E. and is the 7th largest country by area in Europe and the 62nd largest in the world. Its capital and largest city is Berlin. With 81 million inhabitants, Germany is the most populous member state in the European Union.


With such a large landmass, the geography of Germany is very varied. The country has a mountainous south including the Black Forest Mountains and the Bavarian Alps which contain the country’s highest peak, Zugspitze (2962m). The central part of the country is characterised by forested upland and river valleys while to the north the elevation drops away to reach the shores of the North Sea (Nordsee) in the northwest and the Baltic Sea (Ostsee) in the northeast. The lowest elevation is at Wilstermarsch which is few metres below sea level.

Time Zone

The time in Germany is GMT + 1 hours and GMT + 2 hours in summer time.